Posted in Fiction, Story

Into the pages of a story book

Toys and books were a luxury, out of reach.
Being poor meant looking but not having.
To want a toy so badly took months of saving.
Just to be disappointed, the toy was sold out.

Story books were my escape from reality.
When I read the stories, I become a part of it.
For a little while I am free from hardships.
The school library was a haven for me.

I turned to my imagination for comfort.
A cardboard box found at the dump-site,
Sitting inside, I let my mind take me on adventures,
A spaceship, a race car, just like in those story books,
my mind created the magic for play.

But nothing could beat story books.
My favourites were adventures and mysteries.
Through these books I travelled to far lands.
A world I could touch through words read.

I laughed and cried turning each page slowly.
Romance curled my toes, murder sent chills down my spine.
I re-read chapters of Agatha Christie’s books.
And other favourites got read more than once.

I salute those authors that pen words so alive.
Words turning into pictures, the imagination creating.
Taking the reader into the pages of a story.
Escape from the now, away from the drudgery.

I have my own library now lined with story books.
Books borrowed as a child, I now own as favourites.
Through the years, I have re-read my books.
And still, I am drawn into the pages with excitement.

By C.E. Pereira
(31-8-2014)

Author:

I'm a Eurasian of Portuguese, English, Scottish and Malay heritage. And my extended family are of Chinese and Indian heritage. In recent years, the younger generation have added on to include spouses from the Philippines, Nigeria and Russia. My world is made up of different colours like the rainbow. And like the rainbow I am unique. Reading is my form of relaxation, to escape from the drudgery of daily life and enter into a world of the imagination. It is the love of reading that has led me to try my hand in writing short stories and poems. I hope that in some way my stories and poems will take you for a little while away from the drudgery of the present into the pages of imagination. To new friends found, I bid you, Welcome. Sincerely, C.E. Pereira

Leave a comment