Trying to remember

Your face I should know.
Yet, a stranger you are.
Sunday comes, you visit.
Trying to remember, I cannot.

Your face before me,
Your voice a melody.
Smiling and talking.
Yet, I don’t response.

You sit with me.
Spending your Sundays.
A week’s happening.
I yearn for more.

It is time to go.
I hear you say.
A hug and a kiss.
I see you walk away.

At the doorway,
you turn and wave.
I see your sadness.
Yet, I don’t response.

A body frail.
A mind lost.
In a wheelchair.
Tears fall, I watch you go.

By C.E. Pereira
(9-7-2017)

3 thoughts on “Trying to remember”

Leave a Reply

