The fall

Screams of pain
Body, chair tumble
The cats scattered
I run towards you

You are conscious
Screaming, crying
I cradle you
“I’m sorry you fell.”

Excruciating pain
At the spine
A touch, you scream
Ambulance on the way

X-ray clear
No broken bones
No fracture
But soft tissue injury

Prescription given
Painkillers, muscle relaxers
Shows how painful
Your fragility magnified

Doc has discharged you
You can go home
Leaving the hospital
I give thanks above

Was it luck?
Maybe. Yes.
Was it a miracle?
Yes…yes…yes!

By C.E. Pereira
(18-4-2018)

(Last week my mother lost her balance and fell. I didn’t see her fall. She says she turned from her walker placing one hand on the dining table and the other on the back of the chair. After that it’s a blur she says.
Through the ordeal of her scream and cry, I prayed to Jesus continuously. So did my family. Our prayers were heard. Some might call it luck that she didn’t sustain any broken or fractured bones. I call it a miracle by God.)

2 thoughts on “The fall”

Leave a Reply

