The loss at each awakening, I die

I turn at the sound of a click.
Standing at the door is my love.
Radiating love, is mirrored mine.
My steps falter. Is it you my love?

Yes! So soft a whisper, but I heard.
Rooted; I don’t take the next step.
Something is off but what?
I get distracted by the room.

The light behind you is bright.
Yet inside the room there’re shadows.
You step inside, the fog swirls.
Shrouded, you fade away.

No! I scream. Awake whimpering.
A dream; yet a torment.
Each dream, my love I see.
Never have I held you. Why?

Your face haunts my days.
In dreams I see you.
Yet never have we touched.
The loss at each awakening, I die.

By C.E. Pereira
(3-4-2017)

Leave a Reply

