A living hell caught on film

I was horrified.
I couldn’t turn away.
This was not a movie.
I felt sick and helpless.

Who filmed the video?
To stomach such brutality.
Was it taken from a CCTV?
To film and no one intervened.

Shared on social media platforms.
A chilling video, detailed abuse.
Slapped and punched; kicked and thrown.
A child’s torture; the adult monster.

The child beaten with a stick.
Shaken like a ragged doll.
Hit again and again with the stick.
A living hell caught on film.

A four and a half-minute horror.
I couldn’t even stomach thirty seconds.
A message tagged to share this clip.
Is this the path society is taking?

I pray that justice did happen.
Behind bars with no parole.
I pray that child is now safe.
No more waking nightmares; no monsters.

By C.E. Pereira
(28-3-2017)

2 thoughts on “A living hell caught on film”

  1. I’m so glad I didn’t see that, but in a way, I’m glad it was caught on film. Sometimes that’s what it takes for the innocent to be protected and for society to sit up and take notice. Perhaps it will save another child. Perhaps it saved this one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

