Still miss you

(Republished)

How long has it been?
Life has gone on without you.
New memories made,
You are not in them.

Has it been two years?
You were called home.
But it’s as clear as yesterday,
Time has no meaning.

Is there still pain?
Not much, for time heals.
But missing you each day,
Makes it still hurt.

New photographs taken,
Smiling faces, laughing ones,
Searching for you,
Knowing you’ll not be there.

Christmas has come,
The year has ended,
A new year begins,
Birthdays celebrated, all without you.

Learning new things,
Going to new places,
Wanting to share with you,
Reaching out, you’re gone.

Pages of life cannot be turned back
Neither can it be altered.
Your journey has ended,
All that remains are memories

Remembering your laugh, your smile
Brings comfort, eases the pain
Memories that once hurt,
Now fills me with your love.

By C.E. Pereira
(23-2-2008)

Author: cepcarol

I'm a Eurasian of Portuguese, English, Scottish and Malay heritage. And my extended family are of Chinese and Indian heritage. My world is made up of different colours like the rainbow. And like the rainbow I am unique. Reading is my form of relaxation, to escape from the drudgery of daily life and enter into a world of the imagination. It is the love of reading that has led me to try my hand in writing short stories and poems. I hope that in some way my stories and poems will take you for a little while away from the drudgery of the present into the pages of imagination. To new friends found, I bid you, Welcome. Sincerely, C.E. Pereira

Leave a Reply

