My heart may hurt again

(Rewritten)

There is pain when you hurt me
Don’t hurt me please.
This cry from my heart is soft
The hurt in me is deep.

I have unlocked my heart.
I am vulnerable, exposed.
Knowing I can be hurt again.
Yet, it is a chance I take.

I desire to give love.
To let another receive.
I am afraid of being hurt.
I want to lock my heart.

To feel unwanted.
It’s a lonely place.
Being unloved is sad.
The soul dies slowly.

I need to love.
As much as to be loved.
Knowing my heart can break.
I still reach out for love!

By C.E. Pereira
(23-3-1989)

One thought on “My heart may hurt again”

Leave a Reply

