Hope

(Rewritten)

I feel frightened again.
Nothing seems to last long.
People you love seem to drift apart.
I so much wish this wasn’t so.

Changes happen, yet unsettling.
To the mind as well as the heart.
The mind goes round in circles.
While the heart just suffocates and cries.

Hurtful things seem to last forever.
And what you cherish seem to vanish.
Into the dark tunnel a need to venture.
All alone without anyone to comfort.

This journey is long and lonely.
Will anyone enter to help me?
The tunnel is dark and frightening.
Alone inside without a light.

At last! Someone has entered.
Into this darkness where I’m lost.
A tiny light begins to flicker.
Bringing me hope.

But before it can grow brighter.
Before it can light the way.
Something comes along, snuff it out.
Again I find myself alone.

I push against this darkness.
But there’s only a void so endless.
I’m trapped with my fears.
Fears, dark and frightening.

I’m stumbling, lost.
Where are you my Hope?
I cry out in this darkness.
Only my echos is heard.

I reach out again, hoping.
Your hands grasp mine.
Hope kindles anew.
Your love and gentleness enclose me.

I am no more alone.
I feel your strength.
Darkness is fading.
It will be morning soon.

By C.E. Pereira
(7-3-1987)

Leave a Reply

