This is who I am, Eurasian

eurasian-mixed-serani-0502

Today, the world is accepting.
Mixed parentage no more a stigma.
A child follows the father’s race.
Not labeled Eurasian, Amerasian, etc.

Do I envy these new generation?
No! I cannot be what I’m not.
I come from generations of Eurasians.
This is my race, I am Eurasian.

When the world labeled us Eurasians,
a new race emerged from this stigma.
Just like the rainbow that forms,
after the rain cleanses the earth.

Our ancestors weathered the stigma.
Rejected and tagged for being different.
From them this strong race emerged.
An inheritance. I will not give it up.

The mirror shows a face unique.
Not fully this, not fully that.
It’s Eurasian, mixed then, mixed now.
This is my race, this is who I am.

Eurasian in Malay is “Serani”.
Which would you choose to be defined as?
To stay with Eurasian …. or not.
To change to “Serani” …. or not.

Is our identity in peril of being lost?
Can a majority vote decide this change?
What if I am not in favour?
This is who I am, Eurasian, then and now.

By C.E. Pereira
(5-2-2017)

Author: cepcarol

I'm a Eurasian of Portuguese, English, Scottish and Malay heritage. And my extended family are of Chinese and Indian heritage. My world is made up of different colours like the rainbow. And like the rainbow I am unique. Reading is my form of relaxation, to escape from the drudgery of daily life and enter into a world of the imagination. It is the love of reading that has led me to try my hand in writing short stories and poems. I hope that in some way my stories and poems will take you for a little while away from the drudgery of the present into the pages of imagination. To new friends found, I bid you, Welcome. Sincerely, C.E. Pereira

4 thoughts on “This is who I am, Eurasian”

    1. Thank you. I’d like to share with you why I have have written three poems on Eurasians so far. Recently there has been dissatisfcation in the Eurasian community. There’s a debate regarding changing the word Eurasian to that of ‘Serani’. Some prefer ‘Kristang’. What I don’t agree is both of these don’t reflect one’s race. Rather the first means Followers of Jesus the Nazerene. And the second means Followers of the Christ. I am Serani. I am Kristang. Because I believe in Jesus Christ, this is my religion. Being Eurasian is my identity, my race of mixed parentage, my love for those I come from…. Europeans and Asians. I am part of both worlds. I understand both culture. History cannot be changed. I am that product from many times of great-grandparents who defied everything for love. We, their decendents continue to marry for love not race or colour or religion. Hence my poems to stand tall and shout from the tallest building…. I am Eurasian. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I see the distinction. Thanks for explaining. I’m from a mixed race, mixed religion, mixed heritage family, so we do have occasional discussions about how we see ourselves on all counts. I do look forward to the day when labels matter less and we simply enjoy being who we are. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

