A sneaky dog

autumn

I went for a haircut this morning.
The hairdresser did fast work.
Less than an hour I was out the door.
Not knowing my morning was going to spice up.

I’d forgotten my umbrella this morning.
But being a cloudy day I was enjoying my walk.
I didn’t meet anyone along the way home.
I rounded a corner and the drama started.

A stray dog was sleeping near one of my neighbours gate.
It heard me and sprang up barking.
I had seen her around the back alley.
And she’d recently had puppies.

I was alert to her every movement.
I kept my distance, she continued barking.
Even when I was ahead of her, I was not relaxed.
As I rounded the corner to my street, I felt her behind me.

I was a tad slow. Before I could turn-a-round, she nipped me.
I stomped my other foot and shouted out loudly.
She let go of my ankle and ran off.
I chased after her, sorry to say, I was swearing.

I was just showing her that I was not afraid.
I was lucky she did not get a good grip.
Just two small punctured shallow holes.
But it still hurt like hell.

It hurt twice as much when I washed the wound.
Then bearing down, I applied antiseptic onto the bite marks.
And off to the clinic for a tetanus shot.
It was still morning but I was already exhausted with the day.

But the day could have been worse.
Did someone hurt this dog; turning her vicious?
If she had sunk her teeth and held on;
I don’t want to dwell on what if….

By C.E. Pereira
(21-10-2016)

Author: cepcarol

I'm a Eurasian of Portuguese, English, Scottish and Malay heritage. And my extended family are of Chinese and Indian heritage. My world is made up of different colours like the rainbow. And like the rainbow I am unique. Reading is my form of relaxation, to escape from the drudgery of daily life and enter into a world of the imagination. It is the love of reading that has led me to try my hand in writing short stories and poems. I hope that in some way my stories and poems will take you for a little while away from the drudgery of the present into the pages of imagination. To new friends found, I bid you, Welcome. Sincerely, C.E. Pereira

2 thoughts on “A sneaky dog”

Leave a Reply

