God

My eyes marvel at the wonders around me.
I see the hand of God at work, He the creator.
And I see the hand of mankind destroying,
How can we change, to see the world through the eyes of a child?

I know the sufferings happening in the world.
My eyes are wide opened, I see this bleak world.
But I also see the Hand that helps.
The spirit is not broken, hope shines through.

The devil has no power to destroy us unless we allow.
If God is for us, who can be against us? No one.
We can choose to see the goodness through the eyes of a child.
For the Kingdom of God belongs to children.

I’d like to be an astronaut out in space; my dream.
Looking at the Earth and seeing the wonder of God displayed.
I consider that astronaut the luckiest person alive.
The universe in its utmost glory, a glimpse of heaven.

As I am not an astronaut, I will look elsewhere.
Both my feet planted firmly, I watch the Earth at ground level.
Each change in season, the glory of God seen.
Whether harsh or serene, a glimpse of heaven.

In my dreams I am that astronaut looking at the Earth.
I see the wonder of God displayed in utmost glory.
And I reach out to touch this glimpse of heaven.
God has blessed me with this imagination and my soul rejoices.

By C.E. Pereira
(6-10-2016)

Leave a Reply

