My garden chairs look forlorn

My garden chairs look forlorn.
The green paint is faded.
Just gathering dust and grime.
Once they were bright and clean.

I had visions of relaxing.
In the morning, over a cup of coffee.
Reading my favourite novel.
The heat cut short my vision.

I consoled myself, not giving up.
Night-time could be a winner.
Drinking my hot coffee and sweating.
I ended up swatting mosquitoes.

The chairs still had some use.
Umbrellas decorated the chairs.
And when I could not find space.
Things were piled on the seats.

I remember my childhood.
Of sitting with my parents.
Outdoors under the night sky.
It didn’t feel hot then.

Our climate is getting hotter.
Making it unbearable outside.
And me with such visions.
How dumb can one get 🙂

I abandoned my garden chairs.
For the comfort of the indoors.
The chairs all but forgotten.
Now my garden chairs look forlorn.

By C.E. Pereira
(17-9-2016)

Leave a Reply

