My Travel Timeline 2: 1991

Continued from:
My Travel Timeline: 1983 – 1993

(Photos taken before the age of digital cameras have been recopied. All photos before 1999 are recopied from the originals.)

A thank you to all for flipping through the photo gallery of my local travel around Malaysia.

This next compilation of travel photos were taken in 1991. This was my first overseas trip. It is also the one that I remember the most.

From the ruin city in Jerash, Jordan to the Eiffel Tower in Paris and on to England and Scotland.

The city of Jerash was a bonus holiday. Till today I am not quite sure on how our flight was over-booked, which made us miss the connecting flight to Paris and end up stranded in Jordan for two nights.

But the airlines paid for our hotel accommodations and even threw in a visit to the Roman city ruins in Jerash.

The first thing that caught my eyes in Jordan were the brown mountains, the almost non-existence of greenery. The sun shone brightly, yet the wind was cold. On day two I was pining for evergreen trees.

The Roman ruins in Jerash  made up for us being stranded in Jordan. I got to see ruins of the amphitheatre, the Roman bath, the cobble-stoned roads and lots of Roman pillars.

We were privilege to witness a Jordanian cultural wedding. It has similar to a Malay wedding back home.  All in, it was a really memorable visit. Then it was goodbye as we boarded our flight to Paris.

The next five days in Paris I crammed in as much as I could of this wonderful and beautiful city. From the Louvre to the Palace of Versailles, the River Seine cruise, The Notre Dame Cathedral,  I fell in love with Paris. History was alive here.

The rest of my vacation was spread out between Scotland, London, Weston Super-Mare and Grantham.

England was soft with its rolling green hills while Scotland was rugged and mountainous. Scotland is and always will be number one in my heart. I am bias as my maternal grandfather was Scottish.

Here are My Travel Timeline photos of 1991. Enjoy.

By C.E. Pereira
(4-6-2016)

1991: Jordan, France and United Kingdom

The Roman pillars still standing. Jerash is the site of the ruins of the Roman city. (1991 - Jordan)
The Roman pillars still standing. Jerash is the site of the ruins of the Roman city. (1991 – Jordan)
The Roman Bath in the ruin city of Jerash. (1991- Jordan)
The Roman bath in Jerash. Jerash is the site of the ruins of the Roman city. (1991 – Jordan)
The underground Metro station. (1991 - Paris, France)
The underground Metro station. (1991 – Paris, France)
The Eiffel Tower in the background. (1991 - Paris, France)
The Eiffel Tower in the background. (1991 – Paris, France)
The Palace of Versailles. (1991- France)
The Palace of Versailles. (1991- France)
The white cliffs of Dover. (1991 - UK)
The white cliffs of Dover. (1991 – UK)
Home of Mr and Mrs Sillence in Weston-Super-Mare. (1991 - UK)
Home of Mr and Mrs Sillence in Weston-Super-Mare. (1991 – UK)
Wells Cathedral. (1991 - UK)
Wells Cathedral. (1991 – UK)
1991-UK-MadameTussauds
With Charlie Chaplin at MadameTussauds, London. (1991 – UK)
1991-UK-Scotland
We have arrived at Scotland. (1991 – UK)
1991-UK-Scotland-Eileen-Donnan-Castle
Eileen Donnan Castle in Scotland which was used in the filming of the movie ‘Highlander’. (1991 – UK)
1991-UK-Scotland-LochNess
The Loch Ness Centre and Exhibition at Drumnadrochit, Scotland. (1991 -UK)
1991-UK-Scotland-crofters-cottage-oldest
The oldest crofters cottage in Scotland. (1991 – UK)
1991-UK-Scotland-Hollyroodhouse-Palace
Hollyroodhouse Palace in Edinburgh, Scotland. This is the official residence of Her Majesty The Queen in Scotland. (1991 – UK)
1991-UK-towerBridge-From-OfLondon
The Tower Bridge of London in the background. (1991 – UK)
1991-UK-KewGardens
Kew Gardens. (1991 – UK)
1991-UK-Buckingham-palace
Buckingham Palace. (1991 – UK)
1991-UK-Grantham-BelvoirCastle
We visited Debbie in Grantham and she took us to see Belvoir Castle. (1991 – UK)
1991-UK-Prestwold-House
Debbie and Ginie in the garden of Prestwold House. (1991 – UK)
1991-UK-Simon-packe-drury-lowe
Ginie and me with the late Simon Packe Drury Lowe at his home Prestwold House. (1991 – UK)

Next — My Travel Timeline 3 : 1994

Author: cepcarol

I'm a Eurasian of Portuguese, English, Scottish and Malay heritage. And my extended family are of Chinese and Indian heritage. My world is made up of different colours like the rainbow. And like the rainbow I am unique. Reading is my form of relaxation, to escape from the drudgery of daily life and enter into a world of the imagination. It is the love of reading that has led me to try my hand in writing short stories and poems. I hope that in some way my stories and poems will take you for a little while away from the drudgery of the present into the pages of imagination. To new friends found, I bid you, Welcome. Sincerely, C.E. Pereira

One thought on “My Travel Timeline 2: 1991”

Leave a Reply

