Purrs and hisses

cats-Shadow-tummyRub-2016
Trusting: Can I have a tummy rub? – Shadow

Agile on all fours.
Soft paws and sharp claws.
Alert even when asleep.
House cats, my cats.

On the prowl, stalking.
It’s prey in sight.
Crouching before it pounces.
The sparrow takes flight.

cats-Twilight-notMe-2016
Adorable: I didn’t do it. – Twilight

The hunter emerge.
Quivering in attack mode.
Instinct as old as time.
My cats in wild glory.

Tail bushy like a bottle brush.
Back arched, in a dance.
The kitten hisses, claws drawn.
The hunter shines through.

cats-Misty-yumYum-2016
Caught: Can I have some more? – Misty

They circle each other.
Ears drawn back, tails swishing.
Paws raised, claws ready to swipe.
A cat fight in progress.

A happy cat purrs loudly.
A raised tail, a friendly greeting.
Paws kneading, a relaxed cat.
All indicators of a cat’s mood.

cats-Shadow-yawn-2016
Fierce…Not: I’m not growling. I’m yawning, there’s nothing to do. – Shadow

On its back, trust shown.
Purring, a tummy rub.
Paws milking the air.
My cats purr on, enjoying.

My cats unpredictable.
Tame yet dangerous when wild.
The tiger with killer eyes.
My cats with mischievous eyes.

cat-misty-sorry-2016
The guilty: How many times do I need to say I’m sorry? – Misty

By C.E. Pereira
(1-5-2016)

Leave a Reply

