At sunrise my heart breaks

autumn

My love! I cry out.
Dread fills my waking hours.
My love! I call out.
You fill my dreams.

My nights are treasures.
In my dreams I touch you.
You kiss me, you touch me.
At sunrise my heart breaks.

Gone. Lost forever.
Once I held on to you.
You kept pulling away.
I let go. You vanished.

A day without you.
Has time stopped?
A knife stabs my heart.
Each second a piercing.

Is today the next day?
Where are you my love?
I wait, you never came.
Tomorrow holds emptiness.

By C.E. Pereira
(24-4-2016)

2 thoughts on “At sunrise my heart breaks”

Leave a Reply

