An alternate reality

autumn

It is futile.
I have become invisible.
They see right through me.
They turn a deaf ear to me.

What is this trap I’m in?
An alternate reality?
Is it too late for escape?
Anyone! Help me break loose.

I am one against many.
Branded an outcast.
One without voice or face.
A woman without a Champion.

The people have banded.
A mob gathering planned.
What will they do to me?
I am unable to defend myself.

No one comes to my defense.
They see right through me.
I scream at them, pleading.
They turn a deaf ear to me.

Who will cry for me tomorrow?
Not me. My tears are dried up.
Will they miss me tomorrow?
Not me. I am without voice or face.

By C.E. Pereira
(15-4-2016)

Leave a Reply

