Too much sun, the earth cries

autumn

A river; a stream; a brook.
The source of life flowing.
A lake; a pond; a dam.
Precious to life enclosed.

A drizzle; a shower; rain.
Falling from the skies.
Into the soil, the earth drinks.
Without water, the ground cracks.

Typhoons; hurricanes; tornadoes.
Storms of destructions.
Flooding; raging waters.
Nature unpredictable, fury unleashed.

Water in abundance.
Life multiplies in joy.
Water in shortage.
Life threatened by death.

Grass dried and brittle.
Leaves die, branches bare.
Water drying up, the earth cries.
The painting of too much sun.

Air shimmers above the pavement.
Heat rising on a hot afternoon.
Dancing ice cubes in tall glasses.
Like a mirage in the desert.

A trick to the eyes.
The throat thirst for a drink.
Lemonade and ice cubes floating.
To take a long iced-cold drink.

The sun merciless, scorching.
Through clothes the heat felt.
No protection the umbrella.
The sun merciless, beating down.

Bring on the sun block.
Where are the sunglasses?
A heatwave continues daily.
Under the roof the heat burns.

With the setting sun comes dusk.
The heat of the day fades slowly.
The cold at bay, warm still felt.
Will the night sky bring coolness?

By C.E. Pereira
(13-4-2016)

Author: cepcarol

I'm a Eurasian of Portuguese, English, Scottish and Malay heritage. And my extended family are of Chinese and Indian heritage. My world is made up of different colours like the rainbow. And like the rainbow I am unique. Reading is my form of relaxation, to escape from the drudgery of daily life and enter into a world of the imagination. It is the love of reading that has led me to try my hand in writing short stories and poems. I hope that in some way my stories and poems will take you for a little while away from the drudgery of the present into the pages of imagination. To new friends found, I bid you, Welcome. Sincerely, C.E. Pereira

5 thoughts on “Too much sun, the earth cries”

    1. To receive this praise from a brilliant writer such as yourself is wonderful. It motivates me to strive to always give my best when I pen the words in my heart into poems. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

