A Simple Sunny day

autumn

The sunshine was extra bright.
Only a few clouds dotted the sky.
A slight breeze stirring the air.
A day meant for picnics and kites.

Flowers in bloom, colours vibrant.
Sunbeams dancing, sunlight sparkle.
A pair of sunglasses cannot block.
The brightness of this sunny day.

But not for me, I felt the heat.
I was indoors and yet I was hot.
Sweat trickling down my back.
The fan at full blast, still hot.

I cringe to go outdoors.
My skin has become sensitive.
I feel the sun’s rays burning.
Like lasers, heat penetrating.

As I get older, I dread the sun.
Me, who used to enjoy the outdoors.
I’m now finding excuses to stay indoors.
What was once fun, now is agony.

It could be the air-conditioning.
From only the workplace being cool.
My bedrooms are now fitted to cool.
Should I air-condition the whole house?

My deck chair in the shaded area.
Cool and comfort I enjoyed.
A shift making sunbeams seep in.
My deck chair now in direct sunlight.

Some say the Earth has tilted,
causing changes in the climate.
I have noticed the angle of change.
Once shaded now filled with sunlight.

By C.E. Pereira
(5-1-2016)

Author: cepcarol

I'm a Eurasian of Portuguese, English, Scottish and Malay heritage. And my extended family are of Chinese and Indian heritage. My world is made up of different colours like the rainbow. And like the rainbow I am unique. Reading is my form of relaxation, to escape from the drudgery of daily life and enter into a world of the imagination. It is the love of reading that has led me to try my hand in writing short stories and poems. I hope that in some way my stories and poems will take you for a little while away from the drudgery of the present into the pages of imagination. To new friends found, I bid you, Welcome. Sincerely, C.E. Pereira

3 thoughts on “A Simple Sunny day”

Leave a Reply

