I try to understand; I don’t think I ever will

autumn

I felt loved growing up.
A safe and loving home.
My tears wiped away by Mum.
Replaced with hugs and kisses.

Were terrorists given love?
How was their life growing up?
Did their Mums wipe away their tears?
Were there hugs and kisses for them?

Growing up I made mistakes.
My parents were there to correct me.
Teaching me right from wrong.
In school the teachers corrected me.

Did terrorists not have the same advantages?
Were they left to run wild?
Was there no adult to teach them?
Were they never taught right from wrong?

Are they motivated by greed?
Is this the reason they kidnap hostages?
Are their minds messed up?
Were they born without a conscience?

Strapped with bombs, armed with guns.
Killing at random hundreds.
Life is precious; life is sacred.
Taking a life is unforgivable.

Were there bad adults brainwashing them?
Showing them hatred instead of love.
The vicious cycle that continues.
Innocence killed, evil grows.

Am I making excuses for them?
No.
I am trying to understand.
But I don’t think I ever will. Do you?

(In solidarity with all families who have lost loved ones to acts of  terrorism, in the recent Paris attacks and the Malaysian hostage that was beheaded yesterday.)

By C.E. Pereira
(18-11-2015)

Author: cepcarol

I'm a Eurasian of Portuguese, English, Scottish and Malay heritage. And my extended family are of Chinese and Indian heritage. My world is made up of different colours like the rainbow. And like the rainbow I am unique. Reading is my form of relaxation, to escape from the drudgery of daily life and enter into a world of the imagination. It is the love of reading that has led me to try my hand in writing short stories and poems. I hope that in some way my stories and poems will take you for a little while away from the drudgery of the present into the pages of imagination. To new friends found, I bid you, Welcome. Sincerely, C.E. Pereira

9 thoughts on “I try to understand; I don’t think I ever will”

  1. I don’t understand it either, Carol, but it doesn’t surprise me. Humans have committed atrocious acts since the dawn of mankind. Every year in the US about 32,000 Americans die from gunfire and somehow that doesn’t count. In other parts of the world, villagers are hacked to pieces, women and children are raped and it doesn’t make the news. It’s all terror. I think we have a global problem that is getting worse and will touch us all. And I have no answers, except kindness and love, and sometimes that feels like a feather in the wind. 😦

    Like

  2. I don’t seem to understand anything. Besides these horrible things where in many cases they get an in by pretending to be your friend and then pull these horrible acts it also happens with everyday in the form of bullying and I can’t understand either of them. Horrible stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

