Letting go

autumn

Trust places a person in a vulnerable position. When trust is broken it takes a long time to mend it. But the trust we place in God never gets broken. The first step in letting go is a struggle as we want to be in control but God doesn’t give up on us. He is always with us.

I stumble and fall
I reach out to you and you pick me up
You call out to me
Asking me to put my trust in you.

Gently asking me to come to you
But I want to hold on to me alone
I don’t want to depend on you
It is hard to let go.

So many times I’ve been let down
For trusting in others
Now, I find it hard to change
Or put my trust in you.

Hard to let go of being independent
Of answering to anyone but myself
How am I to let go of everything?
I’m afraid you’ll leave me too.

I don’t want to be dependent on you.
Deep inside I know you’ll never desert me
Never abandon me or stop loving me
So why do I struggle within?

Why so many battles, so much pain?
All I have to do is trust in you
Your hand is on this door of my heart
Your love is unconditional.

Let go; softly whispered.
I don’t want to.
Open your heart; I heard a whisper.
I let go; reached out into the unknown.

By C.E. Pereira
(18-5-1991 – Rewritten 27-9-2015)

Author: cepcarol

I'm a Eurasian of Portuguese, English, Scottish and Malay heritage. And my extended family are of Chinese and Indian heritage. My world is made up of different colours like the rainbow. And like the rainbow I am unique. Reading is my form of relaxation, to escape from the drudgery of daily life and enter into a world of the imagination. It is the love of reading that has led me to try my hand in writing short stories and poems. I hope that in some way my stories and poems will take you for a little while away from the drudgery of the present into the pages of imagination. To new friends found, I bid you, Welcome. Sincerely, C.E. Pereira

Leave a Reply

