Mundane chores

autumn

Doing mundane chores are helpful
It frees the mind to think
Just like being on auto-pilot
Your hands busy, the mind active.

Painting the walls is hard work
Each brush stroke coordinated
The eyes and hands in union
The mind wanders without mishap.

Mopping the floors is boring
You mop from left to right
Ideas popping into the mind
Such chores enables creativity.

Not many use these time to think
They moan and groan aloud
And gripe about their problems
Not letting their mind bloom.

Be it weeding or pruning
folding clothes or sweeping the house
washing the car or the porch
mundane chores frees the mind.

Office work can be mundane also.
Boring and repeated work
Day in day out, same procedure.
Encourage the mind to think.

The fingers busy typing
The eyes darting across the alphabets
Mundane work in process
Is the mind on a creative journey?

Any task done repeatedly is mundane
Whether you are a kid or teenager,
an adult, man or woman,
take mundane chores as a blessing.

The mind at its best
plotting and planning
visualizing designs, free to fly
It’s just mundane chores being done.

By C.E. Pereira
(9-8-2015)

Author: cepcarol

I'm a Eurasian of Portuguese, English, Scottish and Malay heritage. And my extended family are of Chinese and Indian heritage. My world is made up of different colours like the rainbow. And like the rainbow I am unique. Reading is my form of relaxation, to escape from the drudgery of daily life and enter into a world of the imagination. It is the love of reading that has led me to try my hand in writing short stories and poems. I hope that in some way my stories and poems will take you for a little while away from the drudgery of the present into the pages of imagination. To new friends found, I bid you, Welcome. Sincerely, C.E. Pereira

5 thoughts on “Mundane chores”

  1. I painted some walls in my house yellow and enjoyed it immensely compared to office work. I think it has to being able to see clear and immediate results. But the office work does exercise my brain in a different way. This was a fun read for such a mundane subject. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you for spending time to read my postings. Much appreciated. How right you are. Two different types of work and the mind reacts differently. In the office my mind is always one step ahead of problems. Mundane chores at home has a calming effect.

      Like

Leave a Reply

