How do I turn and walk away?

autumn

Wow, you have a new car.
Yes, my friend says.
When did you buy it?
More than two months ago.

I stare in disbelief.
My friend couldn’t meet my eyes.
You didn’t tell her, another says.
A silence you could slice through.

We are co-workers and friends,
and I never noticed the new car.
I blushed, feeling like a fool.
Anger rises as a defense.

I frantically search my memory.
For clues, something, anything,
The friend, a friend no more.
Slowly but surely I see a stranger.

What is this sinking feeling?
A moment of truth.
This was my friend yesterday.
How do I turn and walk away?

By C. E. Pereira
(13-6-2015)

One thought on “How do I turn and walk away?”

Leave a Reply

