Strings of a puppet

autumn

Emotional games he plays.
In control he must be.
Always getting what he wants.
Never caring the hurt caused.

Always using guilt.
A double edge sword.
Bringing up the past.
A debt owed, I pay.

It’s complicated.
Love is there, so’s anger.
He’s cunning, he uses guilt.
A clash of emotions.

I can walk away.
Leave anytime I want.
But I won’t do that.
I’ll keep on giving.

He knows, he pulls the string.
Like a puppet, he controls.
He sends a message.
I cannot say no.

This turmoil eating away.
To voice out will only hurt.
Guilt will always rear its head.
The string controls the puppet.

By C.E. Pereira
(27-2-2015)

One thought on “Strings of a puppet”

Leave a Reply

