Where is my voice?

autumn

Where is my voice?
I have not heard its sound,
It has been silent for quite a while.
Have I lost my voice?

I had a strong voice,
Not afraid of its boom,
A voice for those without one,
Now, I have joined this group.

Am I afraid to be heard?
The world I live in gets worst.
Fear is always there,
I am just weary of the fight.

Each time I silence my voice,
It gets harder to unlock its sound.
Keeping quiet has damaged my confidence,
Areas of black and white has turned murky.

A voice that was once sure,
Rang out loud and clear.
What was right or wrong,
Voiced out even in fear.

My voice defined me as a person,
It carried the truth into the open,
Without my voice I am invisible,
How can I claim back my voice?

By C.E. Pereira
(17-9-2014)

Author: cepcarol

I'm a Eurasian of Portuguese, English, Scottish and Malay heritage. And my extended family are of Chinese and Indian heritage. My world is made up of different colours like the rainbow. And like the rainbow I am unique. Reading is my form of relaxation, to escape from the drudgery of daily life and enter into a world of the imagination. It is the love of reading that has led me to try my hand in writing short stories and poems. I hope that in some way my stories and poems will take you for a little while away from the drudgery of the present into the pages of imagination. To new friends found, I bid you, Welcome. Sincerely, C.E. Pereira

Leave a Reply

