The Bird Nest – Babies have flown away

One of the baby bird emerges from the nest. - Photo by Ginie
One of the baby birds emerges from the nest – not a baby anymore. – Photos by Ginie

autumn

The final chapter about that brave bird that built her nest within the Japanese Bamboo plant under my front porch.

The timeline from egg to the two little birds flying away seem so short.

A few days ago I was writing about the babies growing their feathers. Now, the feathers have covered their bodies and wings fully, except for their tail feathers which have not appeared yet.

I kept watch for this family of Bulbul to return to their nest until the babies are much more bigger, but as of today they have not returned.

I have seen a pair of Bulbul perched on the wire of the street lights but I cannot say for sure that they are the same ones that built that nest.

The other baby bird seen here with feathers covering its body minus its tail feather.
The other baby bird seen here with feathers covering its body, minus its tail feathers.

I didn’t get to see the babies flying away, just a couple of shots of them clinging to the stems of the Japanese bamboo plant.

My home was blessed by these winged creatures of the sky. And I hope they will come back to nest again.

But I don’t think Twilight or Shadow would agree with me as my two four-legged friends were not allowed to go outside in case they frightened the baby birds or the parents during the nesting period.

By C.E. Pereira
(29-7-2014)

Author: cepcarol

I'm a Eurasian of Portuguese, English, Scottish and Malay heritage. And my extended family are of Chinese and Indian heritage. My world is made up of different colours like the rainbow. And like the rainbow I am unique. Reading is my form of relaxation, to escape from the drudgery of daily life and enter into a world of the imagination. It is the love of reading that has led me to try my hand in writing short stories and poems. I hope that in some way my stories and poems will take you for a little while away from the drudgery of the present into the pages of imagination. To new friends found, I bid you, Welcome. Sincerely, C.E. Pereira

2 thoughts on “The Bird Nest – Babies have flown away”

  1. I always wonder if they will pop back in to say hello…
    I have a baby Titmouse that knocks on my window if there is no food for him there LOL.s…he is so little….
    Great story….I like real life ones….
    and ………..You are a very Gifted poet, I am glad I wandered back in, I am slowly breathing again, and making my way back into the blogworld 🙂
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    Like

    1. Thank you for visiting my blog and for your lovely compliment.
      I am glad that you are back in the blogworld 🙂
      I enjoy reading your poems, it touches my soul.
      Take care. God bless you Maryrose.
      — Carol

      Like

Leave a Reply

