Gentle friend

autumn

Ah! Gentle friend!
You who have given so much
Of your love and care
I’ve received abundantly.

Never a harsh word or an angry frown
Whenever I need you
Always ready to hug me
Or listen to my woes and frustration.

And yet I feel uncertain
Of your love for me
Why do I doubt so often?
A friend who’s only shown such love.

Forgive me gentle one
For I don’t mean to cause you pain
I don’t deserve Your love
Which you’ve given so freely.

To me who’s discouraged
can only ask with hope
Such love, such tenderness
As I reach out to you always.

By Caroline E. Pereira
(15-1-1988)

2 thoughts on “Gentle friend”

Leave a Reply

