The Bird Nest

birdnest-eggs-2-2014
The nest resting among the branches of the Japanese Bamboo plant. – Photos by Ginie

What are the odds of a bird building its nest near heavy traffic? If anyone knows the statistic I’d sure like to know.

One brave bird built her nest within the Japanese Bamboo plant under my front porch. Furthermore this potted plant is besides the main door. And one car is parked in the porch.

To top this, there are two feline in residence, Twilight and Shadow. And the dog just next door. Either, this bird is very brave or smart.

birdnest-eggs-1-2014
The nest partially hidden between the leaves.

I’ll go with the latter. Birds are smart. This one knows my home is a safe place for her. She must have observed that my cat is always on a leash when outside the house. And the neighbour’s dog cannot climb over the fence. As for the humans, we come out usually to hang the clothes, sweep the porch or drive off in the car.

Twilight has already spotted the bird and its activities so we have to be alert when taking her outside. As for Shadow, since she is still a kitten, I don’t allow her outside at all. So, she is not aware of the excitement happening just outside the front door.

The nest is not empty, nestle inside are two eggs.
The nest is not empty, nestle inside are two eggs.

We have quietly checked the nest everyday for eggs. And a couple of days ago to our delight there were two eggs inside the nest.

The mother bird sits inside the nest but whenever we open the door during the daytime she takes flight.

She comes back to the nest once all is quiet again.

At night it’s different. She is always in the nest. Even when we open the door or switch on the porch light, she doesn’t fly away. She sits on the eggs and protect them.

We are waiting for the eggs to hatch. Wish I knew what type of bird this is. It is a small brown bird with long tail feathers.

A night shot of the nest.
A night shot of the nest.

By C.E. Pereira
(6-7-2014)

Cont.
The Bird Nest – Hatchlings
The Bird Nest – Feathers forming
The Bird Nest – Babies have flown away

Author: cepcarol

I'm a Eurasian of Portuguese, English, Scottish and Malay heritage. And my extended family are of Chinese and Indian heritage. My world is made up of different colours like the rainbow. And like the rainbow I am unique. Reading is my form of relaxation, to escape from the drudgery of daily life and enter into a world of the imagination. It is the love of reading that has led me to try my hand in writing short stories and poems. I hope that in some way my stories and poems will take you for a little while away from the drudgery of the present into the pages of imagination. To new friends found, I bid you, Welcome. Sincerely, C.E. Pereira

Leave a Reply

