My new kitten

fence-honeyGwhiz-cowboy

TWO weeks ago, I kind of adopted a kitten. It was an unforgettable event for both of us.

It was around 9 o’clock at night, I was relaxing watching a programme on the telly when the piercing cry of the kitten filled the air. It was the sound of a kitten in distress.

The neighbour’s dog added to the din by barking non-stop. I went outside to check out what was happening. The sound was coming from the basketball court and I could see that the boys had stopped their game and were now gathered around a motorbike.

Two weeks after being rescued - no more scrawny.
Two weeks after being rescued – no more scrawny. – Photos by Ginie

So, yours truly walked over to the group and found a kitten caught between the mudguard and wheel of the motorbike.

The boys were trying to free the kitten which was meowing at the top of its lungs. This little kitten had some fearsome pipes.

As the boys were not succeeding, I jump in to help free the kitten but with no success.

So, in the end I told the boys that I was going to call the Fire Department which also acted as a rescue team for animals.

Those boys looked at me like I’d grown some horns or whatever. They kind of said “Why call the Fire Department?”

Patiently I answered, “So far, none of us seem able to free the kitten. If you start your motorbike, or push it, that kitten is going to be squashed. Do you want this to happen?”

I didn’t bother to wait for a reply. I went home to called the Fire Department.

As I was making the call, one of the boys called out loudly that they had managed to free the kitten.

I went back out to the court again. The kitten was walking around the boys and mewing softly. Thank goodness it was not injured.

The kitten was scrawny and lanky. It allowed us to pick it up. It was about three months old and liked being cuddled. It looked too thin to be someones’ pet. Most probably a stray that got separated from its mother.

Twilight
Twilight looking a little stress after the arrival of the kitten.

The boys were impatient to get back to their game and they hinted that the kitten might get injured if left there.

So I took the kitten home with me. My cat Twilight took one look at the kitten and showed her jealousy instantly.

The next morning I took the kitten to the vet. The vet told me that Twilight will be stressed out with the new kitten.

My Mum and my cousin, including the maid were helping me choose a name for the kitten. Some names that popped up were either funny or ridiculous. We had a happy time picking a name for the new addition to the family. I suggested the name Shadow and everyone endorsed it. So Shadow was officially ours.

Two weeks have gone by and Shadow is no more scrawny, but still lanky.

Shadow
Shadow posing for the camera looking relaxed and contented.

Twilight has come to terms that peace and quiet has vanished from our home. she has adjusted somewhat but not completely, her stress level has gone up. Poor Twilight.

Now I have two female felines that play, fight and terrorise each other. And if you pass by my home, you might hear me scolding Shadow or Twilight. My stress level has also risen.

It has been almost 8 years since I took care of a kitten. This little one has climbed the drapes, jumped onto the dining table during mealtimes, pounced on Twilight every opportunity she can, and meows extremely loud when she’s locked in her cage. When she’s tired out she plops herself where ever she is and falls asleep immediately. When she’s asleep she looks like an angel. You can pick her up and she’ll cuddle against you sound asleep.

Shadow is slowly becoming a member of the household but pretty much still the new kid on the block. She still does not answer to her name. She thinks she has to defend herself whenever she is spooked. She hides when my tone of voice becomes angry.

She is also very inquisitive. Always curious to any kind of sound and movements. What I love about Shadow is that she likes to be cuddled. I see many mishaps in the near future, but I also see many Kodak moments between Twilight and Shadow.

Twilight eating her biscuits.
Twilight having a quiet meal, Shadow no where in sight.

By C.E. Pereira
(22-6-2014)

Author: cepcarol

I'm a Eurasian of Portuguese, English, Scottish and Malay heritage. And my extended family are of Chinese and Indian heritage. My world is made up of different colours like the rainbow. And like the rainbow I am unique. Reading is my form of relaxation, to escape from the drudgery of daily life and enter into a world of the imagination. It is the love of reading that has led me to try my hand in writing short stories and poems. I hope that in some way my stories and poems will take you for a little while away from the drudgery of the present into the pages of imagination. To new friends found, I bid you, Welcome. Sincerely, C.E. Pereira

4 thoughts on “My new kitten”

  1. I so enjoy my feline friends as well; this gave me new ideas, to write about their experiences too; Enjoyed your poems, and this story as well, be blessed;) thanks for sharing them and their pics too;)) Deb

    Like

Leave a Reply

