Wake up

autumn

Tonight when I go to sleep,
I know the sun will rise in the morning.
Into the land of dreams I enter,
Will I wake up when the sun rises?

I set the alarm for six everyday,
From my dreams I wake up to its ring.
Never questioning this mystery,
Of sleep to awakening.

Wake up, sleepy head!
Get a start on the day.
Don’t waste the day sleeping,
Wake up! Wake up!

What if I didn’t wake up from sleep?
Will I be caught in my dreams forever?
Never seeing the dawn of another day,
Or feel the warmth of my pillows.

Afraid! I trash about,
Caught in a fog, darkness surrounds me,
I scream and jerk up.
Awake! I’m drenched in sweat.

Nightmares! I dread them.
So real, like claws gripping.
Pulling me down into darkness.
Straining to wake up.

Erotic dreams! I sigh.
Not to be shared.
Don’t want to wake up.
Hope the alarm doesn’t ring.

Your kisses, I feel them fading.
Wait! Don’t go. What’s that ringing?
Remnants of a dream, I wake up,
The feel of your lips on mine, warm.

Daydreams! We all have them,
Wake up! You are wasting time.
Keep your thoughts out of the clouds.
Plant your feet firmly on solid ground.

Youth doesn’t think of tomorrow.
It is arrogant and invincible.
A wake up call, it needs.
For the future comes sooner than you know.

I hear my mother’s voice.
Wake up! It’s time for school.
Wake up! You’ve over slept.
How much longer before silence?

We go through life half awake.
Until something drastic happens.
Then we are wide awake.
Wondering where the days have gone.

By C.E. Pereira
(17-7-2006)

Author: cepcarol

I'm a Eurasian of Portuguese, English, Scottish and Malay heritage. And my extended family are of Chinese and Indian heritage. My world is made up of different colours like the rainbow. And like the rainbow I am unique. Reading is my form of relaxation, to escape from the drudgery of daily life and enter into a world of the imagination. It is the love of reading that has led me to try my hand in writing short stories and poems. I hope that in some way my stories and poems will take you for a little while away from the drudgery of the present into the pages of imagination. To new friends found, I bid you, Welcome. Sincerely, C.E. Pereira

Leave a Reply

