Childhood remembered

autumn

I remembered when,
a little sister and her two big brothers,
laughed and giggled together,
argued and fought over anything,
forgot and became friends again!

I remembered when,
I was that little sister,
who tagged along with her big brothers,
was told to keep up,
if I wanted to be part of the gang!

I remembered when,
my big brothers teased me,
just because they could,
told me not to whine or cry,
when I stumbled and fell!

I remembered when,
we played cowboys and red indians,
or police and thieves,
catching or hide and seek,
the scent of childhood!

I remembered when,
we sneaked out to play,
got caught and punished,
in the corner we knelt,
to atone our crime!

I remembered when,
homework and lessons were tedious,
to both of you,
without Mum and Dad knowing,
I sometimes did your homework!

I remembered when,
we built a go-kart,
I was voted to test drive,
down a rocky dirt lane,
such speed and no brakes,
a heap I ended up at the bottom!

I remembered when,
we broke-in the neighbour’s garden,
climbed the fruit trees,
and got away with mangoes and guavas,
like gleeful little monkeys!

I remembered when,
there was a season for everything,
marbles and top-spinning,
kite-flying and rounders,
if only I could turn back time!

I remembered when,
Dad made us a union jack kite,
with glass string to do battle,
taught us the art of kite fighting,
not forgetting the lesson on kite flying!

I remembered when,
one hot afternoon we waded in the river,
little fishes we caught a plenty,
Mum found the bowl of fishes,
a scolding we got for keeping tadpoles!

I remembered when,
my toys were taken apart,
curious to know how it worked,
furious I was,
as the toys was kaput!

I remembered when,
we sat in the store-room,
eagerly waiting for bananas thrown and caught,
as the boy next-door shared with us,
while our Mums had their afternoon nap!

I remembered when,
the ice-cream man came,
with not enough money between us,
turning the wheel of fortune,
we walked away with our hands full!

I remembered when,
a weekend at Nanny’s,
all of us cousins sitting around her,
the smell of stew,
of Nanny feeding us!

I remembered when,
we went for afternoon matinees,
Tarzan was the main attraction,
And western followed next,
But James Bond was not on the list!

I remembered when,
on rainy days,
making paper boats and sampans,
and watching them sail away,
made the day much brighter!

I remembered when,
another weekend at Nanny’s
of Roy and Evelyn being chased,
by Nanny with a broom,
both cheeky imps laughing and running!

I remembered when,
of collecting ang-pows and firecrackers,
of tasty dodols and muruku,
of mooncakes and lanterns,
and waking up to open gifts on Christmas morning!

Memories so precious,
of childhood remembered,
of the three, one has gone home,
with love,
bade farewell!

In loving memory of Roy, my brother and friend.
4th October 2005

By C. E. Pereira
(20-1-2006)

Author: cepcarol

I'm a Eurasian of Portuguese, English, Scottish and Malay heritage. And my extended family are of Chinese and Indian heritage. My world is made up of different colours like the rainbow. And like the rainbow I am unique. Reading is my form of relaxation, to escape from the drudgery of daily life and enter into a world of the imagination. It is the love of reading that has led me to try my hand in writing short stories and poems. I hope that in some way my stories and poems will take you for a little while away from the drudgery of the present into the pages of imagination. To new friends found, I bid you, Welcome. Sincerely, C.E. Pereira

Leave a Reply

