To Be Loved

autumn

Sometimes when I awake at night
I break out in a cold sweat
A nightmare so frightening
I reach out for someone
Whom I can’t find,
Someone to hug me close
And tell me it’s all a dream
Why is it easy to fight with a friend
But so hard to say “I Love You”
To be able to just feel
The warmth of a hug
Or the tender loving care of someone
Is what we search for in our live
But sometimes it feels
Like an elusive dream
And when I wake up
There’s no one to hug me
Or tell me I’m special

By C. E. Pereira
(February 1987)

Leave a Reply

